Miss Maddie, have you always wanted to be a City Year?


by Maddie Christy, corps member serving on The Comcast Team at Browne Education Campus

Third graders have a habit of asking unrelated questions during important lessons. One such time was in the middle of an explanation of fact families when a student in my class asked me, “Have you always wanted to be a City Year?”

She asked me as if she thought I grew up, went to school and studied just to spend my life as a City Year corps member. This student has had a City Year corps member in her classroom every year since she was in first grade and to her, school would not be the same without a red jacket there to see her every day. Like many of her classmates, she sees City Year as a fundamental aspect of her education, there to guide her and support her through her accomplishments and struggles.

"She sees City Year as a fundamental aspect of her education, there to guide her and support her through her accomplishments and struggles"

Now, a few months into my service and six months out of high school, I can’t imagine being anywhere else. I serve because I believe that having a City Year corps member in a classroom today could be the reason a student comes to school tomorrow and I would never underestimate the power of our presence. That said, the work we do, alongside our teachers, can also register quite an impact. After working with my teacher to determine small groups and focusing on certain standards, we were able to see an 8% improvement in our students’ ANET (Achievement Network) scores from September to November.

I can’t say that I always wanted to be a City Year but have always wanted to make a difference in the lives of others and after only a few months, I can already see results. Nothing is more transformative than a year of service, not for the students, for corps members or for the world.

Any thoughts?

