It’s the Little Things: How One Corps Member Helped Make a Big Holiday Splash


AppreciationCards

My name is Brittany Russell and I am 22 years old from Sewell, New Jersey. I proudly serve at Browne Education Campus this year.

As we celebrate the holiday season, I am reminded of all the things that make this time of year special. Family, friends and loved ones are key to the holiday spirit. This week I especially wanted my students to know that they are loved so I created cards for everyone stating why I appreciate them. During our lunch club, each student signed the cards and wrote a note of appreciation for their friends in the group.

This activity was just one way to acknowledge the season and highlight my students’ accomplishments thus far. A little thoughtfulness goes a long way, and I know my kids left happier than normal this week because of the appreciation cards. I can’t wait to see my students after Christmas break!

From the Comcast/NBC 4 team serving at Browne Education Campus, City Year wishes you and your family a happy holiday season!

Any thoughts?

