Building Benches at Leckie Elementary: Field School Student Reflects on Service


Benches at Leckie

On Saturday, February 23, 90 students, staff and volunteers from the Field School joined City Year at Leckie Elementary School where they beautified the hallways and built benches and picnic tables just in time for spring. In this post, the second in a series, Benjamin Rubenstein, Field Class of ’14, talks about his experience.

This year for community service, a group of Field School students, faculty and parents went to Leckie Elementary School to do a variety of deeds to help this school become a more enjoyable place to learn and prosper.  Since I was not able to go to last year’s service day, I was more than eager to help these students and this school.  As I arrived, I had to choose between four groups: building flower boxes, benches, cabinets or painting signs. Since I have a love for carpentry, I quickly put my name down for the group that was building benches. I wanted to be rewarded at the end of the day by sitting on the beautiful bench that I had just completed.

Once I collected all the wood needed to build, I went right into it, along with my dad and fellow Field student, Marcus Robinson. We hammered nail after nail, and made sure everything was as good as we could assemble it, because we wanted these kids to be able to sit back after a long day on the ball fields at recess and just relax. When we finished putting all the wood together, it was time for the paint job. We added a nice red paint to the wood with a rusty feel to it, which made the bench stick out.

As I looked down at the bench Marcus and I created, all I was thinking about was how this bench is going to affect the community and that there is nothing better than giving back to a school who needs more than we do. This is not the kind of experience that will go in one ear and out the other, this will be cemented in my brain and influence me to do more service jobs like this in the future.  Thank you City Year!

2 responses to “Building Benches at Leckie Elementary: Field School Student Reflects on Service

  1. Pingback: Physical Service in Schools: Part 3 in Voices from Service Series | City Year Washington, DC·

Any thoughts?

