Physical Service in Schools: Part 3 in Voices from Service Series


Field Spirit BreakThis is the third and final post in a series authored by students at the Field School. On Saturday, February 23, 90 students, staff and volunteers from the Field School joined City Year at Leckie Elementary School where they beautified the hallways and built benches and picnic tables just in time for spring. In this post, Yana Mazurkevich, Field Class of ’14, reflects on her experience. 

I was thankful to be with friends last Saturday morning at Leckie Elementary School! I loved everything about the City Year service day last year and was excited to hear that Field was going to do another trip this year. Last year, Field built bookshelves, painted murals and danced with the kids at Garfield Elementary. I not only enjoyed painting murals, which was my task, but I also enjoyed seeing how hard everyone else was working. Not only were people working hard, they were having a total blast with their friends and teachers! I completely forgot that my teachers were my teachers.  They were just my adult buddies wearing Field service day shirts. Seriously. It was an incredible feeling to know that.

I think City Year has and will always continue doing an amazing job with what they do. Last year I was more than impressed and inspired with the things they were doing. Painting murals? Genius!  Not only was it fun to do, but beautiful as an end result. Same thing this year: I decided to paint. This time, we painted inspirational words on benches! How creative? Super creative I say!  Others built benches and also picnic tables. By the end of the four hard-working hours, I saw how proud everyone felt, and so did I!

I would work with City Year five million more times. A lot of students from Field who participated at the service trip on March 23rd mentioned how they would want Field to do this kind of trip every season, once more in the fall and spring of the school year. I do not disagree with that at all. I enjoyed giving my time to others and knowing that I contributed to another community. City Year is one of my favorite events at Field, and would love to have this service trip to be a regular event at Field, especially when I graduate. It’s nice to know that a service day each year can continue to make others excited to give their time and help out.

Read other posts in this series:

Voices from Service: Field School Student Talks About Service with City Year

Building Benches at Leckie Elementary: Field School Student Reflects on Service

Any thoughts?

