Letter to My Graduates


Monet Hinton

Monet Hinton is a corps member on the Horning Family Foundation Team serving at Garfield Elementary School. Today, she graduates from City Year. In this letter, she shares thoughts with the fifth grade students she worked with this year.

To the Class of 2020:

Happy Graduation Day! I’m so proud of you!

I couldn’t have asked for a better class. You guys scared the life out of me when I first visited. You were loud and sassy and so full of life that it just meant I had to stay. It took a while to adjust to the neck rolls and the noise, but I grew to love it. As fifth graders you  definitely aren’t as adorable as kindergartners or first graders, but you had so much more to offer me. I’ve enjoyed the real conversations we’ve had that I never would have been able to have with smaller kids, and I hope you guys remember everything we’ve discussed.

This is a day of celebration for all of you. The statistics say that you shouldn’t be walking across the stage but here you are. I want you to realize that each and every one of you has something special to offer this world, and I really hope you have an awesome time learning and discovering what it is. Working with all of you this year has changed my life. You taught me so much that I can’t even begin to tell you how important this year has been for me. I hope it has been as wonderful for you.

As you go forward, please take with you the knowledge of Garfield Elementary School: to always be Respectful, Responsible and Ready. Never forget the lessons we’ve learned together this year because they will take you far in this life. I hope they will take you far enough to soar to wherever you want to be. Remember to smile and celebrate all your successes, big and small. Each time remember that somewhere I’m celebrating with you.

Fifth grade, thank you for the experience of a lifetime.

Love,

Miss Monet

Any thoughts?

